Reckless Driving Lawyer in Roanoke Virginia
Overview of Reckless Driving Law
If you have been charged with reckless driving in Roanoke, Virginia, the first thing you have to know is that it’s not just a traffic ticket. A charge of reckless driving is a Class 1 Misdemeanor and carries a potential penalty of up to 12 months in jail, a fine up to $2,500, and a license suspension.
In the majority of cases, the court will not impose the maximum punishment allowed by law. However, it is important for drivers to know – especially out-of-state drivers – that reckless driving is more than just a traffic ticket. It is a crime under Virginia law and should be taken seriously. A reckless driving lawyer can investigate the charge, talk to the officer, contact the prosecutor, and work to get the charge dismissed or reduced.
General Reckless Driving
There are two common types of reckless driving charges. The first type is General Reckless Driving. Virginia Code § 46.2-852 states:
Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.
Under the general reckless driving statute, you can be cited for reckless driving if the officer determines that you operated your vehicle in a way that endangered other motorists on the road, such as an accident.
Reckless Driving By Speed
The second – and most common – type of reckless driving is Reckless Driving by Speed. Virginia Code § 46.2-862 states:
A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.
You can be charged with reckless driving for driving more than 20 mph over the speed limit. You can also be charged for driving faster than 80 mph. Many highways have a speed limit of 70 mph, including Interstate 81 near Roanoke and Salem. That means you can be charged with a misdemeanor crime – reckless driving – for driving 10 mph over the highway’s speed limit.
A Roanoke Reckless Driving Lawyer Can Help
If you have an upcoming court date for reckless driving in Roanoke County General District Court, or Roanoke City General District Court, you are probably wondering:
- I’m an out of state driver. Do I have to appear in the Roanoke court person?
- Is it a traffic ticket, or something more?
- Will I really get jail time just for speeding in Roanoke?
- What will happen to my license? My insurance rates?
- Can it get reduced or dismissed by the Roanoke prosecutor?
We can help answer those questions before you go to court. A reckless driving lawyer can appear on your behalf – so that you do not have to travel back to Roanoke, Virginia.
The first step is to schedule a free consultation. We will discuss what happened and develop a case plan. By the end of our appointment, you will have a precise fee quote and a case plan. We are a small firm by choice so that we can work efficiently to provide our clients with reasonable rates and focus on what matters most: results.
Next, we’ll get to work preparing a defense to protect your record. We will develop a strategy to reduce, or even dismiss, your Roanoke reckless driving charge depending on the following factors:
- Driving Record
- Emergency Circumstances
- Speedometer Accuracy
- Radar Calibration
- Laser Calibration
- Legality of Traffic Stop
We will order a copy of your driving record at our expense, perform a full investigation, and work to obtain a reduction or dismissal of the reckless driving charge in the Roanoke court. You have options, and we are ready to help. To take the next step, call (540) 585-1776.
Need help? Schedule a free consultation: (540) 585-1776.