This a common question: “Do I need a lawyer for reckless driving in Virginia?”
Lots of people who drive through Virginia and get pulled over for reckless driving wonder if it is worth hiring a lawyer to fight the charge. Let’s clear up a misconceptions:
- Reckless driving is a crime under Virginia law. The charge of reckless driving in Virginia is more than just a speeding ticket. It is a Class 1 Misdemeanor and carries a penalty of a fine up to $2,500 and/or a jail sentence up to twelve (12) months. That’s right, just for going over 80 mph on a Virginia highway, you could be sentenced to jail. It’s a serious charge.
As a serious charge, fighting a reckless driving charge in District Court likely justifies hiring a lawyer. You want to fight the charge and try to get it dismissed or reduced. You also want to protect your reputation, make sure the reckless driving charge doesn’t show up on a background check, keep your insurance rates down, and avoid a serious sentence. A reckless driving lawyer can help you with each of these goals, and your lawyer might even be able to help you avoid having to come to court.
Do you need help with a reckless driving charge in Virginia? You may want to hire a lawyer, who can fight the charge and help you avoid coming to court. Contact a Virginia reckless driving lawyer for more information.