Do you need to pay a reckless driving ticket online in Virginia? If you have already been sentenced and you need to pay a fine, you may be able to pay online.
WARNING: Do not attempt to pay your reckless driving Virginia fine online before going to court. In Virginia, reckless driving is not a pre-payable traffic offense. It is a Class 1 Misdemeanor that carries a potential fine up to $2,500 and/or a jail sentence. Contact a lawyer for more information.
To may a payment to the court, follow the instructions below.
- Go to Virginia Court Case Information – General District Court.
- Type in the CAPTCHA code.
- Under Court, select your court.
- Under Traffic/Criminal, select “Name Search.”
- Enter your full name.
- Click on the blue case number next to your charge.
- Scroll to the bottom and click “Process Payment.”
- Click Continue Payment Process.
- Click Continue Payment Process a second time.
- Enter your payment information and click submit.
- If you have multiple charges, repeat the above steps for each charge.
Before You Pay a Reckless Driving Fine
Before you pay, consider fighting your ticket. You may be entitled to a reduced or dismissed charge, and you might not have to go to court. Contact a reckless driving lawyer in Virginia for more information.
If you have already been convicted, it’s not too late. You have a right to an appeal to the circuit court if you file within 10 days. Again, contact a Virginia lawyer to discuss your options.