What’s the Fine for Virginia Reckless Driving?
If you’re searching for the fine to pay for reckless driving in Virginia, there’s a good chance you are an out-of-state driver. Or, you’ve never been pulled over for reckless driving in Virginia.
Now, you’re home, and the first question you’re wondering before your court date:
- What’s the reckless driving Virginia fine?
- Is there a fine for reckless driving?
- Will I have to pay a fine for reckless driving in Virginia?
- How much is the fine for Virginia reckless driving?
- Can I pre-pay my fine for reckless driving?
- Where can I find out fine for reckless driving Virginia?
Here’s the answer: reckless driving is not a pre-payable, fine offense in Virginia. It’s not a traffic ticket. It’s not a speeding ticket. It’s a … Class 1 Misdemeanor with the possibility of a fine and/or jail time.
“Wait, what? I can go to jail just for driving faster than 80 mph in Virginia?”
Yes, Virginia has strict driving laws.
The reckless driving charge you received while traveling through Virginia carries with it the possibility of a jail sentence. A charge of reckless driving is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. Under Virginia law, it carries a potential penalty of up to 12 months in jail, a fine up to $2,500, and a license suspension.
“Can I really go to jail for reckless driving in Virginia?”
Maybe. It depends how fast you were driving, your prior driving record, and other factors. Most cases get sentenced with just a fine. But now you’re wondering … “okay, just tell me the fine. How much do I owe for reckless driving in Virginia?”
Unfortunately, it’s not something you can just look up. You have to wait until you go to court. The fine could be as much as $2,500. That’s the maximum fine for a Class 1 Misdemeanor. It’s ultimately up to the judge if you’re convicted.
Obviously, a fine of $2,500 is way more than you’d ever pay for a traffic ticket. So you’re best course of action at this point is to find out more about Virginia reckless driving law, and then decide if you need a lawyer to fight the charge and see if it can get reduced to a traffic ticket.
Not everyone needs a lawyer – and I know you’re thinking, “Did a lawyer really just tell me that I might not need to hire a lawyer?” Yes. He did. There’s a possibility you won’t need to hire a lawyer. But first, you should take some time reviewing the free information on this site. Then, you’ll be able to make an informed decision about whether to hire a lawyer in your case.
There are two common types of reckless driving charges.
Types of Virginia Reckless Driving
(A) General Reckless Driving
The charge of reckless driving in Roanoke is defined by state law. Virginia Code § 46.2-852 states:
Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.
Under the general reckless driving statute, you can be cited for reckless driving if the officer determines that you operated your vehicle in a way that endangered other motorists on the road, such as an accident.
(B) Reckless Driving By Speed – More Than 80mph or 20mph Over Speed Limit
Virginia Code § 46.2-862 states:
A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.
You can be charged with reckless driving for driving more than 20 mph over the speed limit. You can also be charged for driving faster than 80 mph.
Many highways have a speed limit of 70 mph, including Interstate 81 near Roanoke and Salem. That means you can be charged with a misdemeanor crime – reckless driving – for driving 10 mph over the highway’s speed limit.
Can I Get Reckless Driving Reduced in Virginia?
An experienced Virginia reckless driving lawyer can help you reduce, or even dismiss, the reckless driving charge depending on the following factors:
- Driving Record
- Emergency Circumstances
- Speedometer Accuracy
- Radar Calibration
- Laser Calibration
- Legality of Traffic Stop
Before you go to court, your lawyer can order a copy of your driving record, enroll you in an online driving improvement course, calibrate your speedometer, and contact the prosecutor to waive your appearance in court and consider a reduction or dismissal of the charge prior to trial.
After reviewing the free information on this website, the next step is to decide to hire a lawyer to get your charge reduced or dismissed. Right now, you’re reckless driving charge carries a possible fine up to $2,500 and/or a jail sentence up to 12 months. A Virginia reckless driving lawyer can fight to protect your record and get the fine reduced, or get the charge dismissed altogether.
For more information, contact a reckless driving lawyer in Virginia.